Saturday, February 27, 2021



Liverpool, Man City dominate PFA player of the year shortlist

Liverpool, Man City dominate PFA player of the year shortlist
September 04
14:13 2020

Players from Liverpool and Manchester City have been announced as the six nominees for the English Premier League’s Players Football Association (PFA) player of the year award for the 2019/20 season.


The 6-man shortlist, which was released on Friday, had four representatives from Liverpool and two from Manchester City.

Trent Alexander-Arnold, Virgil van Dijk, Sadio Mane and Henderson were join on the shortlist by Kevin De Bruyne and Raheem Sterling.

Both van Dijk and Alexander-Arnold played in all 38 league games in defence wherein the latter contributed 13 assists in the course of the season. Henderson was a leader in midfield while Mane scored 22 goals in all competitions.


“The Liverpool quartet have been rewarded for the roles they played in the club’s first title success in 30 years, finishing 18 points clear of second-placed City,” the PFA said.

For Man City, De Bruyne’s stunning individual display saw him equal the EPL assists record previously set by Thierry Henry, while Sterling also scored 35 goals for club and country.

The winners will be announced on Tuesday.


See full list below:

Men’s player of the year

  1. Trent Alexander-Arnold – Liverpool
  2. Kevin de Bruyne – Manchester City
  3. Jordan Henderson – Liverpool
  4. Sadio Mane- Liverpool
  5. Raheem Sterling – Manchester City
  6. Virgil van Dijk – Liverpool

Men’s young player

  1. Tammy Abraham – Chelsea
  2. Trent Alexander-Arnold – Liverpool
  3. Marcus Rashford – Manchester United
  4. Mason Greenwood – Manchester United
  5. Mason Mount – Chelsea
  6. Bukayo Saka – Arsenal

Women’s player of the year

  1. Beth England – Chelsea
  2. Sophie Ingle – Chelsea
  3. Kim Little – Arsenal
  4. Vivianne Miedema – Arsenal
  5. Guro Reiten – Chelsea
  6. Ji So-yun – Chelsea

Women’s young player

  1. Erin Cuthbert – Chelsea
  2. Lauren Hemp – Manchester City
  3. Lauren James – Manchester United
  4. Chloe Kelly  – Manchester City formerly Everton
  5. Ellie Roebuck – Manchester City
  6. Georgia Stanway – Manchester City


No Comments Yet!

There are no comments at the moment, do you want to add one?

Write a comment

Write a Comment